My dad is not into technology. In fact, he has stooped so low in to even asking me how to send an email. But my dad also is a successful small business owner and he knows if he wants to keep his customers in tune, he needs to be involved in the 21st century. 

When I told him I was taking a Mobile Communications class this year, he was over the moon. "You can help me with my new website!" he explained. The thought of going home for fall break and playing around with his website was dreadful, but I knew one thing. With a website, comes a smartphone that is trying to reach that website. And if my dad's website wasn't mobilely optimized, he was in trouble. I quickly got on my smartphone did give it a look.

Fortunately, he had some help in making the website, and the programmer explained that he made it optimized for a smartphone. I was pleased to see that it fit to the screen and you didn't have to scroll left or right. Unlike the website on the computer though, the links to different pages were not as visible. They were in the same place as the computer, but scaled down. If I were a client, I would find this frustrating because the "meat" of the website was essentially hidden. 

All of the links to the pages did work, but I had to zoom in and out to click on them. The text was small, and needed to be zoomed in as well. These problems could be easily solved, and make for a better experience. One of the best parts of his website is the forum, where clients can comment on the work he has done for them. This is where my dad really shines, and you can see how amazing and passionate he is. I know that when a consumer is on a mobile site, they don't want to go digging. I suggested he put this on the pop-up page, right when people go to his site. 

The reality is, people don't want to go digging on a mobile site, and by making small changes, I was able to talk to his programer, and explain how to make his mobile website more efficient.
http://www.exceleratedlearningsystems.com/?page_id=500 



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Talking about Mobile Communication, from this technological illiterate lady

    Archives

    No Archives

    Categories

    All