I have stuck with my Nokia "brick phone" for far too long, and when i went home for break, my mom had an intervention. I have to admit, it was time to get a new phone, but the thought of learning how to use a smartphone was daunting. I know this isn't big mobile media news, but in my own mobile news, it is a big deal. I mean, how much of a phony would I be if I had a mobile news blog, but didn't own a smart phone myself. I see now how important it is to own a smartphone if I want to join the conversation involving them. You really don't know what it is like having one of these amazing devices until you own one yourself. I feel like I can really join in on the debates our class has about all the new and exciting things mobile marketing has to offer for my iphone.
As you can see my other phone was a bit dated. I really want to dedicate this blog post to what I like most about my new phone, the iphone, and how it is drastically different from my old phone. 
First off, it truly is a one stop device for EVERYTHING I need. We're talking Facebook, Twitter, itunes music, Foursquare, LinkedIn, camera, blah, blah, blah. I am sure my mobile communication teacher noticed, but I couldn't stay off my phone the entire class period. It is just so amazing to me the amount of entertainment the iphone provides. 
I also got to finally learn first hand the hype around QR codes is. I know, I have written about brands using them, and how it is leveraging their name, but I never used them myselves. Now I see why these codes are so cool to use. I was searching all over with my phone, scanning everything I could find. Because it is such a new idea, I can see why people would want to try it out, especially for early adopters. Getting that satisfaction from a QR code is foolish, I know, but from someone who knows nothing about how technology works, I find it incredibly innovative.
The last thing I want to say about my iphone is how awesome the app store is. I am obsessed. I have so many apps, which will directly link to my downfall in grades. Although Facebook and twitter look great on the iphone, I am really into a fashion blog called Pose. It is cool because you can take pictures of yourself and add them to your blog, and also follow others based on your fashion interests.
Let me just add that this is DAY 2 with my iphone. I can't imagine all the other things I am going to learn. I justified my purchase because as an advertising major, mobile media IS the future, and I need to have hands on experience with what it is all about. I already understand why the world of media is clinging onto these smartphones. Because our phone is on us at all times, it is the perfect place to reach consumers, myself included!



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Talking about Mobile Communication, from this technological illiterate lady

    Archives

    No Archives

    Categories

    All